Put My 30-Plus Years Of Experience To Work For You

What are the penalties for texting while driving in New Jersey?

On Behalf of | Nov 7, 2023 | Uncategorized

It can be difficult to set down a phone for a long commute. Many people have employers that expect them to remain in constant contact. It is also difficult to ignore the alerts that come in from a mobile device, especially if someone expects a message from a loved one.

Many people actively ignore the risk that comes from texting while driving. Manually using a phone puts drivers at risk of a crash and a ticket. Unless someone has hands-free systems installed in their vehicle, it is a violation of New Jersey state law to use a mobile device while driving.

What are the possible penalties for someone caught texting or otherwise using their mobile phone while driving in New Jersey?

The penalties depend on a driver’s record

The consequences of texting while driving are progressive. The possible consequences of a first offense are substantially lower than the penalties imposed on those who repeatedly get pulled over and ticketed because of mobile phone use while driving.

Someone issued their first citation for using a handheld device while driving will pay at least $200 in fines, and sometimes more. A second ticket has a $400 minimum fine attached, and a third offense will cost at least $600. It also carries the possibility of a 90-day driver’s license suspension. The state can add three points to someone’s driver’s license for a third distracted driving infraction.

There are a few exceptions to the law, including the option of using hands-free systems and picking up a phone during an emergency to contact authorities. People always have the option of defending against a ticket instead of paying it. Fighting back against major traffic citations in New Jersey may benefit those accused of violating state law.